• Home
  • /
  • Bundesliga
  • /
  • By the numbers: The stats behind Germany's jaw-dropping victory

By the numbers: The stats behind Germany's jaw-dropping victory

Courtesy of Toni Kroos’ dramatic added-time winner versus Sweden, Germany has gone from staring down a group stage exit to being on the verge of progressing to the last-16 for the 10th consecutive World Cup.

Here’s a glance at some of the noteworthy numbers from the enthralling finish in Sochi:

0: Sweden’s first-half hero Ola Toivenen scored zero goals this season in 23 league appearance for Ligue 1 struggler Toulouse.

2: Germany has registered an added-time winner for the second time in the World Cup; Kroos’ goal joins Oliver Neuville’s 91st-minute winner vs. Poland in 2006.

4: Marco Reus became the fourth German player to score on both his European Championship (2012) and World Cup debut, joining Gerd Muller, Dieter Muller, and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge.

8: The Scandinavians’ defeat was their eighth from a winning position at the quadrennial contest, the most in the tournament’s history.

11: Sweden’s 11-match unbeaten run at the World Cup dating back to 1990 ended thanks to Kroos’ deft dead-ball effort.

12: Germany has now gone unbeaten in its previous 12 matches with Sweden, pairing seven victories with five draws.

26: Playmaking savant Mesut Ozil was omitted for a starting XI at the World Cup for the first time since his senior debut, a stretch of 26 consecutive matches.

34: Reus’ first-ever World Cup goal was also Germany’s first of the tournament, coming on the holder’s 34th shot of the tournament.

94:42: Kroos’ strike at the 94:42 mark was the latest-ever goal (in regulation) in German World Cup history.

40: Sweden last beat Germany 40 years ago, topping Die Mannschaft 3-1 in April 1978.

548: Shot-stopper Robin Olsen’s 548-minute clean sheet streak was snapped by Reus in the 48th minute of Saturday’s contest.

1978: The last time Germany failed to progress to the knockout round was in 1978, when West Germany was bounced in the second group stage.

1998: The last time Germany won a World Cup match when it conceded the first goal was against Mexico in 1998.

(Photos courtesy: Getty Images)

Translate »